Species & Classifications

Home / World of Gladioluses / Color classification

Color Classification

NAGC accepted this classification in 1973. The hybrid glads can be found in virtually all colors from pure white to nearly jet black. Pink and salmon colored varieties are perhaps the most common, but rich reds, golden yellows, purples and browns are also found among the modern cultivars. Even green, blue and violet glads exist. Although these three colours are not "true" colours in glads, modern hybridizers have come a long way towards producing glads that really look green and blue. Part of the reason for the many colors and forms that modern glads take is in the number and kinds of species used to create them.

Every color group has 4 parts – pale, light, medium (primary color), and deep tones. Some colors have also black tone. Every color code includes 2 numbers. The first one means the color group, the second one - tone.

Colour Pale Light Medium Deep Black
White 00        
Green   02 04 06  
Yellow 10 12 14 16  
Orange 20 22 24 26  
Salmon 30 32 34 36  
Pink 40 42 44 46  
Red   52 54 56 58
Rose 60 62 64 66 68
Lavender 70 72 74 76 78
Violet (Blue) 80 82 84 86  
Smokies (Tan) 90 92 94 96  
Brown         98

Please notice, there are very few dark green gladioluses - 06 - in the world, so this code seldom is in books. The pale yellow flowers with the code 10 are often called cream. The pale orange ones with the code 20 are called buff, and the code 36 is orange scarlet. There is not the code 50 in classification because it is impossible to imagine the pale red color. The code 52 is called red scarletand the code 58 is black red. The code 68 is called black rose, the black lavender color - 78 - is calledpurple, and the pale smokies with code 90 is tan.

An even number for the third digit means no conspicuous markings. Any classification number ending in an odd digit (1, 3, 5, 7, 9) indicate with conspicuous markings. For example, 16 means solid deep yellow.